UN assembly set to vote on Syria resolution


Kofi Annan, the joint UN-Arab League envoy to Syria, has resigned after his peace proposals failed [AFP]

The UN General Assembly is expected to vote on a resolution that criticises the Security Council for failing to take action on Syria.

The UN prepared on Friday to denounce Syria for unleashing tanks, artillery, helicopters and warplanes on the people of Aleppo and Damascus. The resolution will reportedly demand that the regime of President Bashar al-Assad keep its chemical and biological weapons warehoused and under strict control.

The anti-Syria resolution was expected to easily pass in the 193-member General Assembly after its Arab sponsors were forced to drop two key provisions in the original draft: a demand that Assad resign, and a call for other nations to place sanctions on Syria over its civil war.

The resolution also calls on authorities in Damascus to cease human rights violations and withdraw troops from population centres.

As with all General Assembly resolutions, this one is non-binding and carries only symbolic power.

‘Military buildup’

UN peacekeeping chief Herve Ladsous told the Security Council on Thursday that UN military observers in Aleppo are seeing “a considerable buildup of military means, where we have reason to believe that the main battle is about to start”.

The rebels have commandeered tanks, and are bringing them into combat as Syrian warplanes strike back.

“Even in Damascus, I was there a few days ago, one could hear explosions regularly, interminably,” Ladsous told reporters after briefing the council.

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon urged restraint on all sides, saying, “Both the government and the opposition forces continue to demonstrate their determination to rely on ever-increasing violence.”

The resolution that began to circulate on Monday reaffirmed its support for Kofi Annan, but he resigned on Thursday as the joint UN-Arab League envoy to Syria after his peace proposals failed.

The original draft had called for Assad to resign, highlighting an Arab League call on July 22 for “the Syrian president to step down from power, in order to facilitate a peaceful political transition”.

Russia, which has consistently supported Syria at the United Nations, said it would not back the resolution because it was unbalanced and would encourage rebels to keep fighting.

Vitaly Churkin, the Russian ambassador, said on Thursday he could not support the General Assembly’s “extremely unbalanced and one-sided resolution”.

China also opposed the draft. Both countries have cast a double-veto in the Security Council three times to kill resolutions that could have opened the door to sanctions on Syria, or even military intervention.

102 responses to “UN assembly set to vote on Syria resolution

  1. Leif Campagnone

    I just want to tell you that I am just newbie to blogging and honestly enjoyed your web page. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with wonderful articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your website page.

  2. Brenton Morrill

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. All the best

  3. bicicleta plegables

    Awesome post . Cheers for, posting on this blog man. I shall email you again! I did not know that!

  4. visit this site

    As soon as I at first left a comment I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.

  5. free consultation criminal lawyers

    https://www.xing.com/companies/ehuntlaw

  6. arbonne cosmetics

    Im getting a javascript error, is anyone else?

  7. anti aging skin care

    Whenever I initially commented I clicked the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and currently each and every time a remark is added I receive 4 messages with the same comment.

  8. oro gold body scrub

    I tried viewing your blog with my cellphone and the page layout doesnt seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most mobile phone layouts are not working with your site.

  9. kliknij tutaj

    Everything is very amicable with a cloudless account of the issues. It was really informative. Your website is vastly beneficial. Be grateful you for sharing!

  10. I like this blog site layout . How did you make it!? Its rather cool.

  11. darmowy avast

    There are certainly a couple additional niceties to obtain hooked on consideration, except thankfulness for sharing this info.

  12. additional reading

    I ponder you ended a couple of logically fascinating points. Not extremely several persons would especially engage keen on consideration this the way you just did. I’m rightly impressed that near’s a lot concerning this subject that has been bare and you did it hence properly, with so noticeably grade. Top-notch one, show gratitude you.

  13. auto loans for bad credit

    Even though I really like this post, I believe there was an spelling error close to the finish of the third paragraph.

  14. commercial painter brisbane

    This is really a excellent web site, could you be interested in working on an interview about just how you designed it? If so e-mail me!

  15. play and freeze ice cream maker

    When are you going to post again? You really entertain me!

  16. http://meltzermathis.com

    http://bocalawyer37.wordpress.com/

  17. chicken coop kits

    Good Stuff, do you currently have a twitter account?

  18. Bo Steffensen

    To guarantee that you are currently taking in ample proteins during your day, you need to make an effort to ingest about twenty to thirty grams of healthy proteins for every single dinner in the daytime. This ensures that your muscles obtain a constant gasoline supply. Does Gynexol work Let’s say you should consume 180g of protein each day. Consuming 6 daily meals, each with 30 grams of healthy proteins, is easily the most sensible way to accomplish this goal.

  19. personal loan

    To find out from the world who have been designated status or non-status. Or outstanding credit rating. Though these loans is that professionals tend to charge an interest rate ” Repayment in small monthly installments as well as customer complaint history. Lenders closely observe a number of other things.

  20. Nick Slater

    Creating smart options about foods are easy, and is particularly an excellent thing to do yourself plus your health. Pregnancy Should you don’t take the time to become knowledgeable, then it’s easy to make easy blunders that turns into poor nutrition. These guidelines will get you transferring the right path in order to avoid any stumbling blocks.

  21. singapore personal loan

    Many brokers will not assume the debt is left unresolved. When using the introduction of poor credit licensed moneylenders, you may end up paying more when you file for bankruptcy, you have nothing to worry about. Is there another lender involved like a refinance and it is relevant for a short-term budget problem. personal loan singapores serve a variety of agricultural products.

  22. katalogi sinooke

    I’m shocked how good this blog is.

  23. forum internetowe

    Honestly, that’s an amazing blog.

  24. forum internetowe

    I love what I read.

  25. Everyone can learn something for this blog.

  26. forum internetowe

    Due to this blog I was able to open my mind.

  27. This blog is amazing.

  28. Fabulous. Nothing to add.

  29. Honestly, that’s an amazing blog.

  30. This blog should exist forever.

  31. Mocny katalog

    I hope more blogs like this will come into existence.

  32. Katalog stron

    I’m inspired to write my own blog.

  33. Katalogi stron

    I can’t believe how lucky I am that I visited this blog.

  34. mocny katalog stron

    Amazing how good it is.

  35. seokatalog

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  36. seokatalog

    I can hardly believe how lucky I am that I visited such a well-written blog.

  37. Katalogi stron

    I love what I can read here.

  38. Seo katalogi

    To be honest that is one of the best blogs I’ve read.

  39. Katalog stron

    It is pure perfection.

  40. Katalogi seo

    Excellent blog, honestly.

  41. super katalog

    Excellent blog, honestly.

  42. Seo katalogi

    It is very involving.

  43. mocne sinooke

    I love what I can read here.

  44. mega katalogi

    I’m impressed, indeed.

  45. Busy do anglii

    Excellent blog, honestly.

  46. Bus anglia polska

    Honestly, that’s an amazing blog.

  47. mocne katalogi stron

    Excellent! Keep writing.

  48. mocne katalogi stron

    Amazing how good it is.

  49. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  50. Katalog stron

    Impressive how pleasurable it is to read this blog.

  51. mocne sinooke

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  52. Mocne katalogi

    To be honest that is one of the best blogs I’ve read.

  53. katalog seo

    All I had needed I found here.

  54. mocne katalogi stron

    Excellent blog, honestly.

  55. Bus anglia polska

    Due to this blog I made a decision to start writing.

  56. mocny katalog stron

    I hope more blogs like this will come into existence.

  57. Anglia busy

    I hope there will be some more such good blogs.

  58. Katalogi seo

    Excellent! Nothing to add.

  59. Busy z polski do anglii

    Thanks to this blog I broadened horizons.

  60. Busy z anglii

    It is very involving.

  61. katalog seo

    Impressive! I mean it.

  62. super katalog

    This blog is greatest!

  63. stron katalog

    I can hardly believe how lucky I am that I visited such a well-written blog.

  64. Katalogi seo

    I can hardly believe that such well-designed blogs exist.

  65. Bus do anglii

    Thanks to this blog I broadened horizons.

  66. Mocne katalogi

    I’m grateful that such blogs exist.

  67. mocne katalogi stron

    It is very involving.

  68. mocny katalog stron

    This blog should exist forever.

  69. Bus anglia

    I love what I can read here.

  70. Busy anglia

    Thos blog is great. I have all I have always needed.

  71. Mocny katalog

    Thanks a lot! I love this log.

  72. mocny katalog stron

    Due to this blog I saved a lot of time because I found all information I wanted.

  73. Mocny katalog

    This blog inspired me to write my own blog.

  74. Busy z anglii

    Awesome blog!

  75. mocny katalog stron

    Awesome blog!

  76. Mocne katalogi

    Hardly can believe in my fortune. This blog is awesome.

  77. Busy anglia

    Awesome. Keep writing.

  78. mega katalog

    To be honest that is one of the best blogs I’ve read.

  79. Mocny katalog

    I love this blog.

  80. mocne katalogi stron

    This blog is amazing.

  81. Bus anglia polska

    All I can read here is significantly important.

  82. mega katalog

    I can’t stop reading. It is great!

  83. mega katalog

    It is a mine of information, indeed!

  84. Mocny katalog

    Fantastic. How do you do this that this blog is so good?

  85. super katalog

    This blog rocks! I love it!

  86. Busy do anglii

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  87. katalog stron

    Awesome blog!

  88. Busy polska anglia

    This blog inspired me to write my own blog.

  89. Katalog stron

    Due to this blog I decided to write my own blog.

  90. mocny katalog stron

    Hardly can believe in my fortune. This blog is awesome.

  91. Busy polska anglia

    I can hardly believe how lucky I am that I visited such a well-written blog.

  92. Katalog Sinooke

    Incredibly well-written blog.

  93. Mocny katalog

    Due to this blog I was able to open my mind.

  94. Paczki z anglii do polski

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  95. Paczki do uk

    I like this blog very much.

  96. stron katalog

    I like this blog very much.

  97. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  98. katalog seo

    Thanks to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  99. tinyurl.com

    If you are going for finest contents like me, just visit this
    website all the time as it presents feature contents,
    thanks

  100. hcg diet drops

    Wow, that’s what I was exploring for, what a material! present here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web site.

  101. topwallpaper.ir

    Outstanding story there. What happened after?
    Take care!

  102. click here

    Hello are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to
    get started and set up my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Like this post!! Add Your Comment here

