The Only Two Flirty Body Language Moves You Need to Know


I recently spoke to Jena Pincott, author of Do Gentlemen Really Prefer Blondes?: Bodies, Behavior, and Brains — The Science Behind Sex, Love, and Attraction. She had some interesting insights into the basics of flirtatious body language, which I thought I’d share with you….

Cover of "Do Gentlemen Really Prefer Blon...

Cover via AmazonMe: What subtle body language works best when a woman wants a man to know she’s interested?Jena: The answer is deceptively simple: Smile and make direct eye contact. Guys usually approach women only after she has made eye contact. *One study showed that it takes about thirteen glances before the average guy gulps down his inhibitions enough to approach a woman!*

Me: Thirteen glances? Wow! I always feel like I’m being a total floozie if I return a look more than two or three times. But to hell with the shyness, huh?

Jena: Yes. The smile, whether a broad grin or a coy pursing of the lips, usually seals the deal — it reduces any ambiguity about your intentions.

After contact is made, women make their interest known subconsciously…we tousle our hair, caress our wineglass, lick our lips, rub our necks, position our bodies in the man’s direction. *What I like about body language studies is that they prove that behavior matters as much, if not more than, looks. One study found that women who make thirty-five or more signals in an hour are approached by an average of four guys, whereas women who don’t signal, even if they’re prettier, often don’t get approached at all.

Me: That ispretty awesome…What does a man do when he wants to let a woman know he’s into her?

Body Language

Body Language (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Jena: Before the man walks over to you and makes his move, he might put on a show from across the room. Not unlike alpha male chimps, some motivated men might make “space maximization movements” — like spreading their legs while sitting, throwing their arms over the back of adjacent chairs, or slapping their friends’ backs. This is appealing to women because it displays social dominance, which many women find sexy. (Not all of us, though: I personally go for the nerdy guy who watches the whole scene, amused, and has more subtle ways of asserting himself.)

Me: What kind of body language from men is a sure sign he’s NOT interested — no matter how friendly he might seem?

Jena: *For both sexes, folded arms, even if accompanied by a smile, suggest tentativeness and defensiveness.* Another intimacy-avoidance move is the sideways turn. If a person positions his or her body at a ninety-degree angle from you when being face-to-face is just as easy, that doesn’t bode well. Lack of eye contact is the most obvious sign. If he’s looking over your shoulder (or if you catch yourself looking over his), or if he appears distracted in any way — don’t fool yourself into thinking there’s chemistry (unless he’s really shy and nervous).

87 responses to “The Only Two Flirty Body Language Moves You Need to Know

  1. lista de emails

    amazing work. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  2. Cheers Chaps

    nice site, so jealous right now

  3. Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha is a satanic peadofile Queen

  4. Acquiring a fitness center regular membership is an excellent way for beginners to start having a high quality fitness program. Sizegenetics success stories In addition health clubs get the devices necessary to maximize your exercises, but in addition there are pros there who know about body building. You’ll be able to check with any query that you come across.

  5. credit company in singapore

    This insurance is available to run a credit negative balance. The payments really needs to be approved quickly. The standards for credit history have been quite low than what we usually find this season.For conforming California money lender rates.

  6. I’m impressed by this blog.

  7. All I can read here is significantly important.

  8. It is sheer pleasure to read this.

  9. I’m cheerful that such fantastic blogs exist.

  10. Due to this blog I was able to broaden my horizons.

  11. This blog helped me open my mind.

  12. I’m taken aback by this blog.

  13. I will start writing my own blog, definitely!

  14. I have learnt a lot due to this blog.

  15. Awesome blog!

  16. forum internetowe

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  17. mocne katalogi stron

    This blog is good that I can’t take my eyes off it.

  18. Katalogi stron

    I found plenty of useful information on this blog.

  19. mega katalogi

    If there could be more such blogs.

  20. Mocny katalog

    I can hardly believe that such well-designed blogs exist.

  21. mocne katalogi stron

    I love what I can read here.

  22. Katalog Sinooke

    Fantastic. How do you do this that this blog is so good?

  23. mocny katalog stron

    All I can read here is amazing.

  24. mocny katalog stron

    How educational it is.

  25. Mocny katalog

    Thanks a lot! I love this log.

  26. dobry katalog

    I have learnt a lot due to this blog.

  27. katalog seo

    It is a mine of information, indeed!

  28. Katalog Sinooke

    I’m impressed, indeed.

  29. super katalogi

    I hope more blogs like this will come into existence.

  30. Mocne katalogi

    Due to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  31. Katalog Sinooke

    If I hadn’t come across this blog, I would not know that such good blogs exist.

  32. Katalog Sinooke

    Thanks for this blog. It’s fantastic.

  33. dobry katalog

    Hardly can believe in my fortune. This blog is awesome.

  34. katalog seo

    I think this blog should always exist.

  35. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m cheerful that such fantastic blogs exist.

  36. Seo katalogi

    This blog is faultless. I’m amazed.

  37. Anglia bus

    Due to this blog I made a decision to start writing.

  38. Bus polska anglia

    It is very involving.

  39. dobry katalog

    This blog rocks! I love it!

  40. Katalog stron

    Not only did I find what I had needed, but also deepened my knowledge.

  41. Bus anglia

    I like this blog very much.

  42. Bus anglia polska

    If I hadn’t come across this blog, I would not know that such good blogs exist.

  43. Seo katalogi

    I can’t believe how lucky I am that I visited this blog.

  44. Katalogi stron

    I’d very pleased if I could find more such good blogs.

  45. Bus anglia polska

    This is an incredibly well-written blog.

  46. Busy z polski do anglii

    This blog inspired me to write my own blog.

  47. Mocny katalog

    This blog is faultless. I’m amazed.

  48. mega katalog

    This blog is amazing.

  49. super katalogi

    I love what I can read here.

  50. seokatalog

    Excellent blog, honestly.

  51. katalog stron

    I’m inspired to write my own blog.

  52. Seo katalogi

    Great blog, indeed.

  53. Bus anglia

    Not only did I find what I had needed, but also deepened my knowledge.

  54. super katalogi

    Thanks for this blog. It’s fantastic.

  55. Busy polska anglia

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  56. Mocny katalog

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  57. katalog stron

    Fabulous. Nothing to add.

  58. mocne sinooke

    I’m shocked how good this blog is.

  59. super katalogi

    Honestly, that’s an amazing blog.

  60. stron katalog

    Thanks to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  61. seokatalog

    It is pure perfection.

  62. Mocny katalog

    Thanks for this blog. It’s fantastic.

  63. dobry katalog

    Awesome blog!

  64. mega katalog

    I’m glad I came across this blog.

  65. Bus do anglii

    Due to this blog I was able to deepen my knowledge.

  66. Bus z anglii

    Incredibly well-written blog.

  67. mega katalog

    Impressive! I mean it.

  68. Busy anglia

    I like this blog very much.

  69. katalog seo

    If there could be more such blogs.

  70. Anglia busy

    I’m amazed. This blog is excellent.

  71. Busy anglia

    This blog helped me broaden my horizons.

  72. mega katalogi

    If I hadn’t come across this blog, I would not know that such good blogs exist.

  73. Katalogi stron

    Thanks to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  74. Mocne katalogi

    If there could be more such blogs.

  75. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  76. mega katalogi

    Due to this blog I was able to deepen my knowledge.

  77. Bus anglia polska

    I like this blog because of all information I can find here.

  78. mega katalogi

    Due to this blog I saved a lot of time because I found all information I wanted.

  79. Mocny katalog

    I found plenty of useful information on this blog.

  80. I truly appreciated this gorgeous weblog.
    Make confident you keep up the great function.
    Very best Regards .

  81. Upon testing the liquid, scientists have found that
    it containslevels of glucose (sugar), and an enzyme (prostatic acidphosphatase), which is characteristic of a major component
    insemen. If the sperm hits and she does not have one the egg is coded with
    desire and his DNA contribution with satiation. Scott
    could not understand why his mother lied when the doctor asked how his arm
    was broken. She stated that before the press conference he informed her less than a half
    hour prior and told her “you need to be Jackie Kennedy today”.

  82. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this superb blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will
    talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  83. bodybuilding & figure

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find
    this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  84. The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and
    tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just
    so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  85. no2 blast Muscle supplement

    What’s up to every , since I am genuinely eager of reading this web site’s post to
    be updated daily. It contains fastidious information.

  86. What i do not understood is if truth be told how you’re not actually a lot more smartly-liked than you may be right now.
    You’re very intelligent. You realize thus considerably on the subject
    of this subject, made me for my part believe it from so many varied angles.

    Its like men and women are not involved until it is one thing to do with Lady
    gaga! Your personal stuffs excellent. Always take care of it up!

  87. muscle maxx mass gainer review

    Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

Like this post!! Add Your Comment here

