UK websites hit in Assange protest


Julian Assange, from Wikileaks, at the SKUP co...

Julian Assange, from Wikileaks, at the SKUP conference for investigative journalism, Norway, March 2010 (see http://www.skup.no/Info_in_Englishhttp://www.skup.no/Konferansen_2010/Programmet) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Computer hacking collective Anonymous claims it has attacked a number of Government websites in protest over the Julian Assange case.

Websites including that of the Home Office and the Ministry of Justice were affected by the group, which has been using the hashtag “OpFreeAssange” on Twitter.

WikiLeaks founder Mr Assange, who is wanted in Sweden for questioning on sexual assault allegations, has been seeking refuge in the Ecuadorian embassy in London for two months with the British authorities threatening to arrest him if he steps outside.

A Ministry of Justice spokeswoman said: “The Ministry of Justice website was the subject of an online attack last night at around 2000 hours.

“This is a public information website and no sensitive data is held on it. No other Ministry of Justice systems have been affected.”

A spokeswoman for the Home Office denied its website was “hacked”, but added: “It was targeted by protesters on Monday night but only experienced very minor interruption to the service.

“We had measures in place to protect the site and no other Home Office systems were affected.”

It is the latest development in the diplomatic row between the South American country and the UK.

Ecuador’s president Rafael Correa said it would be “suicide for Great Britain” if authorities tried to enter his country’s embassy to reach Mr Assange.

Speaking on state television, Mr Correa said such a course of action would be “suicide for Great Britain because then people could enter their diplomatic premises all around the world and they wouldn’t be able to say a thing”.

website ideas

website ideas (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

77 responses to “UK websites hit in Assange protest

  1. Cheers Chaps

    nice site, so jealous right now

  2. Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha is a satanic peadofile Queen

  3. spot welding

    Find your induction brazing projects, then they probably will not sell very well. You actually get started with the product as well. Seam tracking systems are relatively clear. {||||

  4. http://bloodhunter.ustka.pl

    I’m grateful that such blogs exist.

  5. I’d very pleased if I could find more such good blogs.

  6. forum internetowe

    I wish there were more such blogs.

  7. Fabulous. Nothing to add.

  8. This blog is good that I can’t take my eyes off it.

  9. Due to this blog I decided to write my own blog.

  10. Fantastic. How do you do this that this blog is so good?

  11. forum internetowe

    I have learnt a lot due to this blog.

  12. I’m taken aback by this blog.

  13. forum internetowe

    I hope there will be some more such good blogs.

  14. Katalogi seo

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  15. super katalogi

    I’m cheerful that such fantastic blogs exist.

  16. stron katalog

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  17. katalog stron

    Everyone can learn something for this blog.

  18. Katalog Sinooke

    This blog is very educational.

  19. katalogi sinooke

    This is an incredibly well-written blog.

  20. super katalogi

    I love this blog.

  21. mocne sinooke

    Magnificent! Keep leading this blog.

  22. mocne sinooke

    It is so pleasurable to read this.

  23. super katalogi

    Thanks to this blog I broadened horizons.

  24. katalogi sinooke

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  25. Katalogi seo

    Excellent! Nothing to add.

  26. super katalog

    I can’t stop reading. It is great!

  27. katalog stron

    Hardly can believe in my fortune. This blog is awesome.

  28. Katalog Sinooke

    This blog is good that I can’t take my eyes off it.

  29. super katalogi

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  30. Katalog stron

    Thanks to this blog I opened my mind.

  31. dobry katalog

    All I can read here is amazing.

  32. Bus polska anglia

    It is sheer pleasure to read this.

  33. super katalogi

    It is pure perfection.

  34. mocne katalogi stron

    Thanks to this blog I broadened horizons.

  35. Bus londyn polska

    If there could be more such blogs.

  36. Busy do anglii

    I can hardly believe how lucky I am that I visited such a well-written blog.

  37. Seo katalogi

    Due to this blog I saved a lot of time because I found all information I wanted.

  38. Busy z anglii

    Amazing how good it is.

  39. Bus anglia polska

    All I can read here is amazing.

  40. mega katalog

    I can’t believe how lucky I am that I visited this blog.

  41. mocne katalogi stron

    This blog is faultless. I’m amazed.

  42. dobry katalog

    This blog is faultless. I’m amazed.

  43. Mocne katalogi

    It is a mine of information, indeed!

  44. mocne sinooke

    Great blog, indeed.

  45. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m glad I came across this blog.

  46. mocne katalogi stron

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  47. katalog seo

    I’m amazed. This blog is excellent.

  48. mocne sinooke

    I hope there will be some more such good blogs.

  49. mocne katalogi stron

    All I can read here is amazing.

  50. mega katalogi

    It is very involving.

  51. super katalog

    This blog is faultless. I’m amazed.

  52. Bus z anglii

    This blog helped me open my mind.

  53. Anglia busy

    Thanks to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  54. Bus anglia

    Due to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  55. Bus z anglii

    I like this blog because of all information I can find here.

  56. Busy anglia

    It is pure perfection.

  57. Busy z polski do anglii

    I found plenty of useful information on this blog.

  58. Busy z anglii

    This blog inspired me to write my own blog.

  59. Katalogi seo

    This blog is very educational.

  60. mega katalog

    All I can read here is significantly important.

  61. katalog seo

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  62. seokatalog

    Thanks a lot! I love this log.

  63. Bus anglia

    Amazing how good it is.

  64. Katalogi stron

    I’m so lucky that I came across this blog.

  65. mega katalog

    I can hardly believe how lucky I am that I visited such a well-written blog.

  66. mega katalogi

    I’m taken aback by this blog.

  67. stron katalog

    Due to this blog I was able to deepen my knowledge.

  68. Katalogi seo

    This blog is incredibly well-written.

  69. Katalogi stron

    Due to this blog I saved a lot of time because I found all information I wanted.

  70. Busy z polski do anglii

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  71. super katalogi

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  72. Paczki do anglii

    This blog inspired me to write my own blog.

  73. katalog seo

    Very intriguing comments!

  74. automated welding

    In titanium welding, heat is adjusted with a broken lawn mower who sees your flyer won’t throw it away, and instead will contact you! The Certified Welder program is a good place to start – post up pictures of your desired size. Average, welders and titanium welding machine operators can expect annual earnings of welders were $29,462 in 2004. {||||

  75. thinking about moves further. Any time you may continually conquer the free of charge poker.

  76. moving services washington dc

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.

    I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  77. movers in washington dc

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

Like this post!! Add Your Comment here

