How to Drive an Automatic Car


Gear shift stick of my Mazda Protege SE 1999.

Gear shift stick of my Mazda Protege

What You Need to Know

  1. Driving an automatic means you’ll have much less chance of stalling, can make learning to drive considerably easier and take some of the stress out of motoring.
  2. Remember, both the acceleration and brake pedals should be operated by your right foot. Keep your left foot still and out of the way!
  3. Do not shift into park or reverse while your car is moving. This could do serious damage to the transmission.
  4. Putting the car into neutral if you are at rest for any length of time will help save on fuel.
  5. If you learn using an automatic car, you’ll only be licensed to drive automatics.
  6. Automatics are often more expensive, as, being less in demand in the UK, they are generally more scarce.

Why Drive an Automatic?

While cars automatic transmission may be relatively rare in the UK and Europe, especially when compared with the United States, there are a number of good reasons to make the move to auto. Benefits of this type of car include;

  • Driving tends to be easier; mastering clutch control is, for many people, the hardest part of driving. Bypassing this altogether can make driving much easier and so more practical and enjoyable.
  • You have much less chance of stalling an automatic car than you do a manual transmission.
  • You can learn and take your test in an automatic car. If you struggle with gear changes, this could be the difference between a pass and a fail.

Possible Drawbacks to Automatic Cars

At the same time, however, there are a number of potential drawbacks to ditching the stick and shifting to automatic. These include, but are not limited to;

  • While you can pass your test in an automatic, if you do so, you will only be licenced to drive an automatic. However, passing in a manual means you are qualified to drive both manual and automatic cars.
  • You will have less control over gear selection in an automatic. For some, this even takes the fun out of driving.
  • As a rule, automatic cars consume more fuel than manual ones.
  • Furthermore, since fewer are produced for the UK market, the cars themselves tend to be more expensive.

Learning the Basics: Getting Moving

To begin with, you should note that there are just two pedals in front of you – the brake and the accelerator. There is no clutch pedal. Generally speaking, driving instructors recommend you use your right foot to operate both of these, leaving your left foot still and out of the way. Aside from this, there will be no gearbox. Instead, there will be a gear shifter, usually marked with the letters P,R,N,D (for park, reverse, neutral, drive).

Now, to get driving, you should first ensure the car is in park (P). With the brake pedal fully pressed down, start the engine.

With the engine running, you can now get moving. Shift into drive (D) or reverse (R), according to which direction you want to move in, and then slowly ease your foot off the brake pedal. You should now feel the car begin to move.

Pushing down on the accelerator will increase your speed. Remember, if this is your first time in an automatic car, take things slowly and, if you are in any way uncomfortable, stop and start again if it is safe to do so.

If you want to reverse, simply follow the above procedure, but instead of shifting into drive (D) from park(P), go straight into reverse (R).

Stopping and Parking

Stopping an automatic car is much the same as stopping a car with manual transmission. So, except in an emergency, slow to a gradual halt by pressing lightly down onto the brake pedal, though, of course, you will not have to shift down gears. If you have yet to finish your journey, then there is no need to shift out of drive or reverse once you have stopped, but do ensure you have the brake pedal fully pressed down.

However, if you are stationary at the end of a journey, then put the gear shift into park before you switch the engine off.

100 responses to “How to Drive an Automatic Car

  1. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  2. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m inspired! Very helpful info specially the remaining section 🙂 I deal with such information a lot. I used to be looking for this particular information for a very lengthy time. Thank you and best of luck.

  3. Cheers Chaps

    nice site, so jealous right now

  4. Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha is a satanic peadofile Queen

  5. Hi there very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?I’m satisfied to search out numerous useful info right here in the post, we want develop extra strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  6. You actually make it seem really easy with your presentation but I to find this matter to be really one thing which I think I would by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and very extensive for me. I am having a look forward for your subsequent put up, I’ll attempt to get the hang of it!

  7. Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info particularly the remaining section 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I used to be looking for this particular information for a very lengthy time. Thank you and best of luck.

  8. It’s in reality a great and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  9. This is really interesting, You’re an overly professional blogger. I have joined your feed and look ahead to looking for more of your magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  10. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make blogging glance easy. The full look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content material!

  11. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to present something again and aid others like you aided me.

  12. Hey there, You have performed an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  13. Demetrius Canham

    Will not forget about that several other ALS groups contributed to the booth and ended up there with the conference! Attending were being: Simon Teat, Christine Beavers, James Holton and Scott Classen. Also represented on the booth but not attending the conference were being: Carolyn Larabell and Mark LeGros (x-ray tomography), Alastair MacDowell and Jason Knight (high pressure diffraction), and Martin Kunz (Laue Microdiffraction). Did I overlook any person?

  14. money lender

    The normal time period to report our credit history and can come in the current market rates. Loan may not be possible for the lender. moneylenders can help you out of fear that the habit is not clearly stated, find out the pros and cons in availing loans. Melissa Kellett is an additional way to acquire money when you find the home loan, the co-signer will assume responsibility for repayment.

  15. Leo Morton

    Quit smoking today! Using tobacco prematurely grows older your skin layer by constraining blood circulation and stealing o2 from your skin area. Clear Skin Max does it work This unbecoming behavior also depletes key nutrients discovered in your body. Just like you required every other reasons to quit, smoking also compromises your skin’s elastin and collagen. Once you quit, you’ll appearance greater and reside lengthier.

  16. Awesome blog!

  17. engraved wedding rings

    I was wondering if you endlessly measured changing the page outline of your blog? Its fantastically anyway in black and white; I adore what youve got to declare. Nevertheless maybe you could a insufficiently further in the way of gratify hence inhabitants can connect with it healthier. Youve got an terrible slice of text for only having 1 before 2 descriptions. Possibly you could space it out better?

  18. I can hardly believe that such well-designed blogs exist.

  19. Thanks to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  20. Due to this blog I was able to deepen my knowledge.

  21. forum internetowe

    I love this blog.

  22. It is so pleasurable to read this.

  23. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m shocked how good this blog is.

  24. katalogi sinooke

    Due to this blog I was able to open my mind.

  25. mocny katalog stron

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  26. mega katalog

    I’m taken aback by this blog.

  27. Seo katalogi

    Awesome blog!

  28. mega katalog

    Impressive how pleasurable it is to read this blog.

  29. super katalog

    Thanks a lot! I love this log.

  30. katalog seo

    This blog helped me open my mind.

  31. mocny katalog stron

    I found plenty of useful information on this blog.

  32. Seo katalogi

    I’m impressed, indeed.

  33. Katalogi seo

    It is so pleasurable to read this.

  34. super katalog

    I love this blog.

  35. super katalog

    Fantastic. How do you do this that this blog is so good?

  36. mocny katalog stron

    Due to this bog I learnt a lot!

  37. Mocne katalogi

    I have learnt a lot due to this blog.

  38. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m impressed, indeed.

  39. katalog stron

    I’m shocked how good this blog is.

  40. katalogi sinooke

    Excellent blog, honestly.

  41. katalog stron

    Thos blog is great. I have all I have always needed.

  42. Katalogi stron

    I’m taken aback by this blog.

  43. Katalog Sinooke

    Impressive how pleasurable it is to read this blog.

  44. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m glad I came across this blog.

  45. Anglia busy

    I’m grateful that such blogs exist.

  46. Bus z anglii

    This blog is incredibly well-written.

  47. katalogi sinooke

    Fantastic. How do you do this that this blog is so good?

  48. Katalog stron

    I hope more blogs like this will come into existence.

  49. mocne katalogi stron

    Excellent! Nothing to add.

  50. Bus anglia

    Incredibly well-written blog.

  51. mega katalog

    I can hardly believe how lucky I am that I visited such a well-written blog.

  52. Busy polska anglia

    I’m taken aback by this blog.

  53. Mocne katalogi

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  54. mega katalog

    Magnificent! Keep leading this blog.

  55. Busy polska anglia

    Excellent! Nothing to add.

  56. Katalog Sinooke

    It is a mine of information, indeed!

  57. Busy z polski do anglii

    Everyone can learn something for this blog.

  58. Seo katalogi

    This blog is amazing.

  59. Bus anglia

    Excellent! Nothing to add.

  60. Katalogi seo

    I’m so lucky that I came across this blog.

  61. mocne katalogi stron

    Due to this blog I was able to deepen my knowledge.

  62. katalog stron

    This blog should exist forever.

  63. katalog seo

    It is faultless and I’m glad that I visited this blog.

  64. Bus polska anglia

    Due to this blog I decided to write my own blog.

  65. Busy z anglii

    Thanks to this blog I broadened horizons.

  66. Bus anglia polska

    I’m inspired to write my own blog.

  67. super katalog

    How educational it is.

  68. katalog seo

    Awesome blog!

  69. mocne katalogi stron

    I can hardly believe how lucky I am that I visited such a well-written blog.

  70. katalogi sinooke

    I love what I read.

  71. mega katalog

    Everyone can learn something for this blog.

  72. Anglia bus

    Not only did I find what I had needed, but also deepened my knowledge.

  73. Katalog Sinooke

    It is very involving.

  74. Bus z anglii

    Awesome blog!

  75. Busy anglia

    I love what I can read here.

  76. Katalogi seo

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  77. katalog stron

    I love what I can read here.

  78. Seo katalogi

    Due to this blog I was able to deepen my knowledge.

  79. Katalogi seo

    Awesome. Keep writing.

  80. Busy z polski do anglii

    Excellent! Nothing to add.

  81. mocne sinooke

    Excellent blog, honestly.

  82. Busy z anglii do polski

    I’m grateful that such blogs exist.

  83. mega katalog

    I hope more blogs like this will come into existence.

  84. Busy z anglii

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  85. super katalogi

    It is pure perfection.

  86. Mocne katalogi

    This blog is awesome.

  87. mega katalog

    It is so pleasurable to read this.

  88. Busy z anglii

    This blog is greatest!

  89. Bus z anglii

    This blog is greatest!

  90. Bus anglia polska

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  91. mocne katalogi stron

    Thanks to this blog I broadened horizons.

  92. Seo katalogi

    I’m shocked how good this blog is!

  93. Mocne katalogi

    Very intriguing comments!

  94. mocny katalog stron

    All I can read here is significantly important.

  95. stron katalog

    Excellent! Keep writing.

  96. Katalogi seo

    It is a mine of information, indeed!

  97. Anglia bus

    This blog rocks! I love it!

  98. Kaleigh Malette

    Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  99. Paczka polska anglia

    I like this blog because of all information I can find here.

  100. Csr Racing Ifunbox Hack Download

    At this moment I am ready to do my breakfast, once
    having my breakfast coming yet again to read
    further news.Csr Racing Ifunbox Hack Download

Like this post!! Add Your Comment here

