How to add an RSS Feed


Really Simple Syndication (RSS) is a way for content publishers to make news, blogs, and other content available to subscribers. You can add your favorite RSS Feeds as subscriptions in Microsoft Office Outlook 2007. There are several ways to add an RSS Feed.

English: This icon, known as the "feed ic...

English: This icon, known as the “feed icon” or the “RSS icon”, was introduced in Mozilla Firefox in order to indicate a web feed was present on a particular web page that could be used in conjunction with the Live bookmarks function. Microsoft Internet Explorer, Opera and some other browsers have adopted the icon in order to promote a de facto standard. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is RSS?

RSS provides a convenient way for content publishers to distribute information in a standardized format. A standardized XML file format allows the information to be published once, and then viewed by many different programs such as Microsoft Office Outlook 2007. A common example of RSS content is sources of information such as news headlines that are frequently updated.

The benefit of RSS is the aggregation of all content from multiple Web sources in one place. You no longer have to visit different Web sites for news, weather, blogs, and other information. With RSS, summaries of content are delivered to you, and then you decide which specific articles you want to read by clicking a link.

RSS message

The delivery mechanism for RSS content is known as an RSS feed. There are millions of RSS feeds that consist of headlines or short summaries of content with a link provided to the original source. The feeds can also contain the complete content, and include attachments of almost any type. Other names for RSS feeds are Web feeds, XML feeds, RSS channels, and syndicated content.

You can discover new RSS feeds in several ways. On Web sites that offer this feature, you might see the Button image, RSS button or, XML button. In some Web browsers, such as Microsoft Windows Internet Explorer 7, when you click these buttons, you can subscribe to the associated feed.

You can also enter the Internet address, known as the URL, of an RSS feed directly in Outlook.

 Tip   Looking for additional RSS Feeds? There are several Web sites on the Internet that maintain large listings of available RSS Feeds. These sites include Syndic8.com and Search 4 RSS.

Other people can share an individual RSS link with you through Outlook. When you receive an RSS Feed sharing request, you can automatically add the feed to your own list of RSS Feeds.

 Note   To learn how to import a collection of RSS Feeds, see the See Also section.

Top of Page Top of Page

Add an RSS Feed through Windows Internet Explorer 7

When you use Windows Internet Explorer 7 and Office Outlook 2007, you can add RSS Feeds from either program as well as view the feeds in either program.

  1. When you browse to a Web page that contains RSS information, Button image appears in Windows Internet Explorer next to the Button image Home button.

RSS Feed indicator

  1. Click Button image.

A list of all available RSS Feeds on the Web page is displayed.

  1. Click the RSS Feed that you want to add.

 Tip   You can also click Button image, RSS button or, XML button in the Web page.

Top of Page Top of Page

Add an RSS Feed through the Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 Account Settings dialog box

  1. On the Tools menu, click Account Settings.
  2. On the RSS Feeds tab, click New.
  3. In the New RSS Feed dialog box, type or press CTRL+V to paste the URL of the RSS Feed. For example, http://www.example.com/feed/main.xml.
  4. Click Add.
  5. Click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

Add an RSS Feed sent to you in a sharing invitation e-mail message

  1. When you receive an RSS Feed sharing invitation, click Add this RSS Feed.

Add an RSS feed in the Reading Pane from a sharing invitation e-mail message

You can click the button at the top the Reading Pane, or if you open the message, on the Share tab, in the Open group, click Add this RSS Feed..

Add a RSS Feed from a sharing invitation e-mail message

  1. Click OK to confirm adding the RSS Feed to Office Outlook 2007.
  2. rss

    rss (Photo credit: cand3la)

99 responses to “How to add an RSS Feed

  1. corrugated roofing rochester

    First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in
    which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was
    interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.

    I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Many thanks!

  2. Cheers Chaps

    nice site, so jealous right now

  3. Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha is a satanic peadofile Queen

  4. Pingback: NEW RSS FEED AND BLOG EMAIL! « JahsWorld

  5. Pingback: THE ADVANTAGES OF “RSS WEBSITES” |

  6. Pingback: Marketing Power of RSS Content Syndication |

  7. Stuart Bowles

    Starting to be more in shape can be a useful intention. It could be a little overwhelming, specifically if you are bad design at this time, but health and fitness is feasible. Adipo RX The advice and tips in the following paragraphs can help you achieve your fitness goals. This will likely get a lean body and you will feel great!

  8. For example, 0 interest on the burrowers integrity and ability to pay. And what do you want? There can be either secured or unsecured signature loans.Many of them have to spend a lesser amount of your needs!

  9. mocny katalog stron

    I found plenty of useful information on this blog.

  10. titanium welding

    Completing small titanium welding projects being sold, talk to the positive side of a certain amount of work experience and testing. 5356 alloy is harder than 4043 and has less tendency to bird nest ball up in front of the rim. {||||

  11. It is sheer pleasure to read this.

  12. loan singapore

    The SBA will be required to prove that a portion of a predictable amount. Take note of the defaulted student loan, slap those sweaty wads of paper currency on the company, it takes anywhere from one hour to twenty-four hours for you California farm loan singapore. Opting to refinance the car will still have only a year to complete the licensed moneylenders agents, prepare the document. Do not feel obligated to make school more expensive than one and a borrowing limit of $500,000.

  13. This insurance is available to run a credit negative balance. The deal only with the cash you need, even without having any full time employment. The loan singapore can turn into a steadier money lender which would mean more interest over the longer term. Nv second hand car turns out to be there on time… if the service is not particularly complicated, you can save you thousands of dollars in costs associated with AmericasCarpersonal loan singapores.

  14. forum internetowe

    Due to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  15. mocne katalogi stron

    Make sure that this blog will always exist.

  16. forum internetowe

    To be honest that is one of the best blogs I’ve read.

  17. Magnificent! Keep leading this blog.

  18. I’m taken aback by this blog.

  19. forum internetowe

    This is an incredibly well-written blog.

  20. Fantastic. How do you do this that this blog is so good?

  21. All I had needed I found here.

  22. I’m impressed by this blog.

  23. Thos blog is great. I have all I have always needed.

  24. forum internetowe

    Incredibly well-written blog.

  25. Incredibly well-written blog.

  26. Thanks for this blog. It’s fantastic.

  27. I love what I can read here.

  28. It is a mine of information, indeed!

  29. Seo katalogi

    All I had needed I found here.

  30. dobry katalog

    Excellent! Nothing to add.

  31. Katalog stron

    I’m shocked how good this blog is.

  32. mega katalog

    Impressive how pleasurable it is to read this blog.

  33. dobry katalog

    Magnificent! Keep leading this blog.

  34. seokatalog

    It is sheer pleasure to read this.

  35. Katalog stron

    Not only did I find what I had needed, but also deepened my knowledge.

  36. katalogi sinooke

    I think this blog should always exist.

  37. stron katalog

    I love what I can read here.

  38. Katalog stron

    I’m glad I came across this blog.

  39. mocny katalog stron

    Awesome. Keep writing.

  40. Mocny katalog

    I found plenty of useful information on this blog.

  41. Mocny katalog

    This blog is good that I can’t take my eyes off it.

  42. katalog seo

    This blog is incredibly well-written.

  43. super katalogi

    Fantastic. How do you do this that this blog is so good?

  44. Busy z anglii

    Magnificent! Keep leading this blog.

  45. Katalog Sinooke

    I like this blog because of all information I can find here.

  46. Busy z polski do anglii

    I’m shocked how good this blog is!

  47. Anglia busy

    Hardly can I believe that such faultless blogs exist.

  48. dobry katalog

    Thanks to this blog I broadened horizons.

  49. dobry katalog

    Excellent! Keep writing.

  50. mega katalogi

    I’m glad I came across this blog.

  51. Busy z anglii do polski

    All I can read here is significantly important.

  52. mega katalogi

    It is pure perfection.

  53. Katalogi stron

    I’d like to read more such blogs.

  54. mega katalog

    Thanks to this blog I deepened my knowledge.

  55. Anglia busy

    This blog is greatest!

  56. Bus polska anglia

    I’m grateful that such blogs exist.

  57. Bus z anglii

    Due to this blog I decided to write my own blog.

  58. Mocne katalogi

    I’m shocked how good this blog is!

  59. Busy anglia

    I can hardly believe that such well-designed blogs exist.

  60. Busy z anglii

    Thanks a lot! I love this log.

  61. Katalog stron

    Hardly can believe in my fortune. This blog is awesome.

  62. dobry katalog

    I think this blog should always exist.

  63. super katalogi

    I’m taken aback by this blog.

  64. Busy z polski do anglii

    I’m shocked how good this blog is.

  65. katalog stron

    Everyone can learn something for this blog.

  66. Bus anglia polska

    I hope there will be some more such good blogs.

  67. Bus anglia

    This blog is faultless. I’m amazed.

  68. Katalogi stron

    Due to this blog I was able to open my mind.

  69. mega katalog

    It is so pleasurable to read this.

  70. katalog stron

    I’m surprised how good this blog is.

  71. Mocne katalogi

    I’m inspired to write my own blog.

  72. Katalogi seo

    I’m grateful that such blogs exist.

  73. super katalogi

    This blog should exist forever.

  74. dobry katalog

    It is very involving.

  75. mocne katalogi stron

    Impressive! I mean it.

  76. stron katalog

    I wish there were more such blogs.

  77. mocny katalog stron

    Honestly, that’s an amazing blog.

  78. mocne katalogi stron

    I’m impressed by this blog.

  79. Busy polska anglia

    How educational it is.

  80. dobry katalog

    It is so pleasurable to read this.

  81. Busy do anglii

    Due to this blog I was able to deepen my knowledge.

  82. mega katalogi

    Amazing how good it is.

  83. mocny katalog stron

    I’m so lucky that I came across this blog.

  84. mocne katalogi stron

    How educational it is.

  85. Mocne katalogi

    It is sheer pleasure to read this.

  86. super katalog

    Very intriguing comments!

  87. mega katalog

    I’m shocked how good this blog is!

  88. mega katalogi

    If I hadn’t come across this blog, I would not know that such good blogs exist.

  89. katalog stron

    This blog helped me broaden my horizons.

  90. mocny katalog stron

    All I had needed I found here.

  91. seokatalog

    Hardly can believe in my fortune. This blog is awesome.

  92. seokatalog

    I love what I read.

  93. Pingback: Advertising in RSS Feeds - |

  94. Matthew C. Kriner

    I have to point out my admiration for your kindness supporting persons who require help on this important matter. Your very own dedication to getting the message all over had been surprisingly productive and have constantly permitted many people much like me to realize their aims. Your entire interesting hints and tips implies much a person like me and a whole lot more to my colleagues. Warm regards; from everyone of us.

  95. Very good blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any ideas? Thanks a lot!

  96. Pingback: Marketing Power of RSS Content Syndication | various posts,postari diverse,info,store

  97. Pingback: Marketing Power of RSS Content Syndication - startachim

  98. Pingback: Advertising in RSS Feeds - startachim blog

  99. Pingback: Marketing Power of RSS Content Syndication - startachim blog

Like this post!! Add Your Comment here